Bruce Springsteenhas announced a new album.Western Starsis out June 14 viaColumbia. The first single, “Hello Sunshine,” will be released at midnight tonight with an accompanying video. Scroll down to seeWestern Stars’ cover art and tracklist.

“This record is a return to my solo recordings featuring character-driven songs and sweeping, cinematic orchestral arrangements,” Springsteen says in a press release. “It’s a jewel box of a record.” Springsteen co-produced the album with Ron Aniello. It features appearances fromJon Brion(on celeste, Moog, and farfisa), Patti Scialfa, early E Street Band member David Sancious, Charlie Giordano, Soozie Tyrell, and more.

According to the press release, the record is inspired by “Southern California pop records of the late ’60s and early ’70s” and explores a “sweeping range of American themes, of highways and desert spaces, of isolation and community and the permanence of home and hope.”

Western Starsmarks Springsteen’s first studio album since 2014’s High Hopes. Since then, he released abox set forThe River, amemoirand acompanion album, and vinyl box sets collecting his studio work from1973 to 1984and1987 to 1996. In 2017, he debutedSpringsteen on Broadway, an intimate one-man-show that was later released as aNetflix specialandalbum.

Read Pitchfork’s Sunday Review ofNebraska.

Western Stars:

01 Hitch Hikin’
02 The Wayfarer
03 Tucson Train
04 Western Stars
05 Sleepy Joe’s Café
06 Drive Fast (The Stuntman)
07 Chasin’ Wild Horses
08 Sundown
09 Somewhere North of Nashville
10 Stones
11 There Goes My Miracle
12 Hello Sunshine
13 Moonlight Motel

Read More


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here